In the Belly of a Whale by Scott Orr

Scott Orr is a local Hamilton musician… He also owns a label, Other Songs Music Co, which has awesome local musicians like Bruekke and Alex Drumm.  I listen to these 3 bands/musicians frequently.  They all have songs on my bed time sleep music playlist.  So good.  Anyways, today at church I had an ah-ha moment while listening, and singing with about 80 people IN THE BELLY OF A WHALE by Scott Orr.

How many times have I felt like that.
How many times have I been there.
How frequently do I live in the belly of the whale.
How frequently can I sing Hallelujah when I am in those places.

Take a little looksie at the lyrics while listening to the video below:

At the first glimpse of light I’ll be looking for you Lord
At the first glimpse of light I’ll be looking for you Lord
Oh I’ll be looking for you Lord,
Oh I’ll be looking for you Lord
I’m in the belly of a whale.

And the first step I take, I’ll be headed the right way
Oh, the first step I take I’ll be headed the right way
Oh I’ll be headed the right way,
From the belly of the whale.

And the first song I sing, I will sing it to you God,
The first song I sing I will sing it to you God,
Oh I will sing Hallelujah
Oh I will sing Hallelujah
From the belly of the whale

Why do you love a heart that’s not beating,
I have a heart that’s not beating,
But it was made for hallelujah
But it was made for hallelujah
But it was made for hallelujah

Hallelujah, Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah

I did my best, it wasn’t much
I couldn’t feel, so I tried to touch
I’ve told the truth, I didn’t come to fool you
And even though it all went wrong
I’ll stand before the Lord of Song
With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah

Hallelujah…

Here’s a live performance version of In the Belly of a Whale

Leave a Reply

