Christianity. Christians. Christ Followers.

“Jesus is bigger than any one religion. He didn’t come to start a new religion, and he continually disrupted whatever conventions or systems or establishments that existed in his day. He will always transcend whatever cages and labels are created to contain him, especially the one called ‘Christianity’.”

― Rob BellLove Wins: A Book About Heaven, Hell, and the Fate of Every Person Who Ever Lived

Something about being called a Christian urks me.  I think it’s the years, like thousands of years, of murder and such that turns people off.  All the times that people who say they are Christians, and are clearly not doing the right, moral, smart, or healthy things.  The bad reputation that Christianity has, the box you are put in, the label you are given – I’m just not comfortable with any of it.  I’ve always felt like there is so much explaining to do… I’m not a debater, I’m not into proving anything.  I much more into meeting people where they are at, loving without judgement, meeting practical needs of others…. I think those are all things that are commanded by Christ.  I follow what he taught.  I follow Christ’s life and teachings and so…. I’m a follower of Christ.  A Christ follower.

If you were to label it, what do you describe yourself as when it comes to your faith, religious beliefs, lifestyle….

Leave a Reply

