Psalm It. Pt 2

Here’s another PSALM IT post.  See my last one here.

I’m just loving the psalms.  Coming out of a difficult time in my life, the psalms are so comforting…. It always makes me think that someone else out there is way more melodramatic than me and has way more issues.  What a way to bring some normality into me reading the bible.  Who knows how healthy it is… But.  Yep – reading the bible to make me feel not so crazy!

Psalm 6: 9
The Lord has heard my plea;  the Lord accepts my prayer.

Psalm 8:4-9
When I consider your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place, what is man that you are mindful of him, the son of man that you care for him?

I love all of Psalm 8.  But the verse above describes my tattoo and is one of the verses that supports the stars on my left foot.

Psalm 10: 17-18
LORD, you know the hopes of the helpless.
Surely you will hear their cries and comfort them.
You will bring justice to the orphans and the oppressed, so mere people can no longer terrify them.

Psalm 11:4-7 (Reason enough to be a pacifist…)  A good one to read in many different translations….
The Lord is in his holy temple; the Lord is on his heavenly throne.
He observes everyone on earth; his eyes examine them.
The Lord examines the righteous, but the wicked, those who love violence, he hates with a passion.
On the wicked he will rain fiery coals and burning sulfur; a scorching wind will be their lot.
For the Lordis righteous, he loves justice; the upright will see his face.

Verse 5 in other translations:

  • The Lord tests the righteous, but his soul hates the wicked and the one who loves violence. (ESV)
  • The LORD examines both the righteous and the wicked.  He hates those who love violence. (NLT)
  • The LORD examines both the righteous and the wicked; his very being hates anyone who loves violence. (CEB)
  • The Lord tests the righteous, but the wicked and the one who loves violence His soul hates. (NKJV)
I will write another post, at another time, about my personal views on pacifism.  But today I’ll leave it at Psalm 11 for a good thinker.
Psalm 12:6-7 (ESV)
The words of the Lord are pure words, like silver refined in a furnace on the ground, purified seven times.  You, O Lord, will keep them; you will guard us from this generation forever.
Psalm 13:5-6 (NLT)
But I trust in your unfailing love.  I will rejoice because you have rescued me.

I will sing to the LORD because he is good to me.
AMEN.
Leave a Reply

