Perseverance is a swear.

“Let me not pray to be sheltered from dangers,but to be fearless in facing them.  Let me not beg for the stilling of my pain, but for the heart to conquer it.”
― Rabindranath Tagore, Collected Poems And Plays Of Rabindranath Tagore

Perseverance is one of the most difficult things.  Ever.  Period.  That’s why I title this post ‘Perseverance is a swear.’  It stings like a crude word, it can hurt and be painful.

Perseverance – not giving in, not giving up – hard.

In fight or flight – I’m a flight.  Run away from it.  Sleep through it.  Ignore it.  Hide from it.  Whatever the “it” is – I want out.  That’s my natural tendency and I fight my flight on a regular basis.  Perseverance…. Man is it tough.

One of my least favourite things is when someone says “Andrea, you just have to persevere.”  Seriously.  Worst statement ever.  How patronizing. Even if the person is trying to do it out of love, even if they have your best interests in mind, it is what I call “unhelpful encouragement.”  I prefer my inspiration from God, my perseverance given by His love, His grace….

Along with “unhelpful encouragement”,  there are so many bad inspirational quotes out there.  I think some of them are so wrong, and so against what Jesus teaches.  More like sales pitches to yourself based on being self centred and putting yourself above others.  I’m just saying this while I’m on my little rant here… Might as well!

Besides those unhelpful encouragement statements and bad inspirational quotes there are people who live, like Martin Luther King Jr., and say so many inspirational, wise, and truthful things in a lifetime.  If I need a little inspiration, if I need a little push, a little extra realization…. MLK has always got something good to say.  And the bible.  That too.  😀

2 Thessalonians 3:5
May the Lord direct your hearts into God’s love and Christ’s perseverance.

If I always bring everything back to doing God’s will and allowing God to work in me through His love, then I look forward to the perseverance….

Leave a Reply

