Psalm 18

Psalms is always recommended to read in times of distress, disappointment, discouragement.  When you are in a difficult situation, when you are asking questions, when you are waiting on God, Psalms is what you read.  That’s where I am.  That’s why I’m reading through Psalms.  The problem I face while reading Psalms is connecting with the “Old Testament God” that expresses His righteous anger, His wrath, His war.  I have a hard time understanding God before Jesus came to fulfill the Old Testament Law.  The pre-Jesus God seems so different than the Father God.  Understanding that has always been a struggle for me.  The God I experience is the grace filled, loving, merciful, forgiving, peaceful God.  I battle through understanding and experiencing God in all His forms.  Which brings me back to Psalm 18 and the challenge in understanding the ‘earth quaking angry God’ that is expressed in these 50 verses.  On the other hand, there is comfort in what David expresses through his distress.

Psalm 18:  Verses that resonated with me (TNIV)

I love you, Lord, my strength.

The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock.

I called to the Lord, who is worthy of praise, and I have been saved from my enemies.

In my distress I called to the Lord; I cried to my God for help. From his temple he heard my voice; my cry came before him, into his ears.

He reached down from on high and took hold of me; he drew me out of deep waters.

He rescued me because he delighted in me.

You, Lord, keep my lamp burning; my God turns my darkness into light.

As for God, his way is perfect: The Lord ’s word is flawless.

Therefore I will praise you, Lord, among the nations; I will sing the praises of your name.

He gives his king great victories; he shows unfailing love to his anointed.

Leave a Reply

