Psalm 23

Psalm 23 is famous.  It is well known.  I would say ever more commonly known than the Lord’s prayer (which I’ve also included below), the prayer Jesus taught in instructing his followers to pray.  Psalm 23 is a prayer of David in time of war and distress, it is honest crying out to God.  A prayer of reassurance, and claiming the goodness of God.

Here I’ve included these passages in the New Living Translation (NLT).  In my opinion, the NLT is the bible in lamen’s terms.  It’s the bible simplified.  Allows it to be an easy read, and in this case quite beautiful.  I commonly read ESV as that is what I studied in my bible course in university, but I love Psalm 23 in the NLT.

Psalm 23 is truth of our loving God.

~Andie

Psalm 23

The Lord is my shepherd;
I have all that I need.
He lets me rest in green meadows;
He leads me beside peaceful streams.
He renews my strength.
He guides me along right paths, bringing honor to his name.

Even when I walk through the darkest valley,
I will not be afraid, for you are close beside me.
Your rod and your staff protect and comfort me.
You prepare a feast for me in the presence of my enemies.
You honor me by anointing my head with oil.
My cup overflows with blessings.
Surely your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me all the days of my life, and I will live in the house of the Lord forever.
The Lord’s Prayer – Matthew 6:9-13
Our Father in heaven, may your name be kept holy.

May your Kingdom come soon.
May your will be done on earth, as it is in heaven.
Give us today the food we need, and forgive us our sins, as we have forgiven those who sin against us.
And don’t let us yield to temptation, but rescue us from the evil one.
Leave a Reply

