Psalm 24

There was this worship song that I learned when I was six.  I loved it.  I knew all the words, it was simple, true and I knew what it meant as a six year old.  It was one of the few songs I remember that made an impact on me as I child.  I remember singing it while my family was with YWAM (Youth with a Mission) and living in Hawaii.  I commonly find myself singing it as I clean, when I’m in the shower or in the car.  It naturally comes to mind, with no prompting at all, but to remind me of it’s lyrics that come straight from Psalm 24.  There are many other worship songs that have be written from this passage that I know, but this is the song that resinates with me most.  Even in all it’s 1990 cheesy-ness, O You Gates by Graham Kendrick.

Lift up your head, o you gates, swing wide your everlasting doors….
That the King of glory may come in (clap, clap)

We had this album on cassette tape and listened to it in our car.  We had very few casette tapes.  I think we had a case in the car that held 6 or 8 casette tapes… So approximately 60-80 songs that I listened to as a child.  We drove a lot.  Across the country, back and forth, three times.  You get through those tapes REALLY quickly.  I know a lot of late 80’s and early 90’s worship music, probably more than any other era of Christian music.  Other songs that I loved as a child, are of course the most obvious: Awesome God, Lord, I Lift Your Name on High and Shine, Jesus, Shine…. We listend to Keith Green (but that was on record only), Graham Kendrick and all the Vineyard and Maranatha, of course my mom loved Twila Paris and Amy Grant, along with Michael W. Smith.  Then came in Steven Curtis Chapman, DC Talk, the Newsboys and Jars of Clay.

Anyways, inspiration and song from David in Psalm 24…

Psalm 24:7-10

Lift up your heads, you gates; be lifted up, you ancient doors, that the King of glory may come in.
Who is this King of glory? The Lord strong and mighty, the Lord mighty in battle.
Lift up your heads, you gates; lift them up, you ancient doors, that the King of glory may come in.
Who is he, this King of glory? The LordAlmighty—He is the King of glory.

~Andie

One thought on “Psalm 24

  1. Funny to think that a song stuck in your head for 20 years and comes back to you now.
    I guess the one that will stick with Makai’o will be One Thing Remains…”Your love never fails, it never gives up, it never runs out on me…” 🙂

Leave a Reply

