So, Whatcha Gunna Do?!

So, Whatcha Gunna Do?!

I keep getting asked what I going to do with all my time when the kids go back to school in September.  Amaris will be joining Makaio in a full day kindergarden program.  That leaves me with 8:30am to 3:15 every day to myself.  Well, there is a few things that will be happening… Let me just tell you a little bit about what my life looks like.

Today a post is coming out that I wrote for another blog called Nest in the City and the series is called a Day in Her Life.  It’s basically a series of posts from different women and what their days look like.  Well, I reviewed my day and wrote my post on what a day looks like when Amaris is home with me and I have some work to do.  So take a look here and have a read.

So.  What do I do all day?  Well, while many of you are working moms and you have the lovely benefit of keeping your work at the office, and many of you stay at home moms have the wonderful benefit of not having the pressure of worrying about any work…. I have the strange life of a work at home mom.  Financially, Jon and I do not have the option of me not working, that is out of the question.  But how I am working is the option we do have.  Now it does have it’s benefits being a work at home mom:  choosing vacation, moving schedules, never worrying about missing appointments or asking for time off work, etc.  But juggling the schedule can be very challenging.  And right now, it’s challenging.  Come the fall, I hope it will become easier.  I won’t have to divide up my work day into little chunks throughout the day planning and event here, checking emails there.  I can actually have a work day.

This is how it’s going to be different…. This is what I think it’ll look like.

6:00-8:30 – Morning Gong Show then kids and Jon out the door!  BYE!
8:35 – Eat breakfast
8:50 – Do dishes
9:00 – Work Out
10:00 – Shower & Get dressed
10:40 – Work
1:00 – Lunch
1:20 – Do more work (2 days a week) and miscellaneous (3 days a week):  run errands, clean the house, go to appointments, fold and put away laundry, get groceries, , etc.
3:15 – Go to the bus stop
3:30 – Kids time:  ride bikes, do worksheets, go for a walk, colour, go to the park, backyard play time, garden etc.
5:15 – Start making dinner (Jon gets home)
5:45/6:00 – Eat dinner
6:30 – After dinner (daddy led) play time
7:00 – Bed time routine begins
7:30 – Goodnight kids
7:30 – Clean up dinner, put on dishwasher, put in some laundry, clean up the day’s mess, tidy tidy….
8:30 – RELAX….  I usually I’ve had to work again here… I’m really excited to not have to work again in the evening.  The pressure is off a bit.  I will be able to have my evenings back. I will have to do my consultations in the evening occasionally, and on the weekends occasionally, but I will not NEED to work in the evenings like I generally have been doing in the last 9 months.  And I’ll get to go to bed at 10:30 like I like to.  Yay!  I could watch a movie, watch tv, go for a walk, get a babysitter and go out, lay on the couch, read a book, hang out, play a game, do a project, do a craft, hours to do SOMETHING!

So that’s what I’ll do. I’ll work out, work, take care of my house, play with my kids and then have free time to myself consistently on an ongoing basis. I look forward to September…. Now for June – August, that’s a different story.  😀

~Andie

Leave a Reply

